A bit blurry from a busy few weeks, and feeling like I haven’t been writing consistently, I asked A. what I should write about today. Her response, “Well, you should write about your family, and how you miss them when they’re away, and that you love them.” She continues to leave me speechless, so I will write.

Sunday, in lieu of yoga, and in an effort to get things done in a timely manner, we decided that I would take H. grocery shopping while R. took A. to run other errands. As we readied ourselves to leave, I was waiting for the fallout from 1. H. wanting to be with A. and 2. H. being “stuck” with Daddy while A. got to be with Mommy. To our surprise, both A. and H. were excited for their adventure; save the sucker bribe to get them out-the-door for later.

A. and R. left first, while H. and I putzed in the garage before finally getting into the car. H.’s smile beamed in the backseat as she giggle-talked all the way to the store. She was getting all the attention, she knew it, and loved it. We got to our destination, where the real fun began: she was able to pick the color of car-cart she wanted, could use both steering wheels to drive, was able to help pick out the groceries by herself, and Daddy let her get in and out of the cart as much as she wanted. I’m going to soak up these days of “cheap thrills”, it won’t be long and they’ll find grocery shopping as entertaining as sitting in a thrift store while I go through records. We packed up the groceries, drove home, unpacked, and sat down on the couch together.

The “cutest little” potato peeler

Shortly after we landed on the couch, R. and A. got home, and if I thought H. was beaming, wow, A.’s beam could slice a peach in half. She burst through the door with a hula-hoop for H., shoes for me, and enough sunshine to make a unicorn puke. For the next twenty minutes, while peeling potatoes and helping out in the kitchen, she “baby talked”, not talking like a baby, but talking like an adult does to a baby, to everything in the kitchen “What’s that potato peeler? Oh, you are just the cutest little peeler I’ve ever seen.” To be honest, it got a little weird. R. shared with me, that while they were driving A. said, unsolicited, “Mommy, we haven’t spent alone time together in a long time have we? I really like being with you alone.”

I would like to say the “after glow” from individual attention lasted longer than a half hour, but crying for a Princess dress, invading space, pulling hair, pinching backs, and other wonderful sibling events knocked them, and us, back to the reality of our home.

My Papa Sense tells me:

Many of our activities as a family, whether it be shopping, traveling, or playing at the park, are either done as a group of three or four, rarely do R. and I take the opportunity to spend one-on-one time with the girls. I consider this a lesson learned. I knew the lesson, but haven’t taken the time to practice it. Lots of excuses could be made, but going forward I hope that we can carve out more time to bond in this way. Could you imagine if we actually took them to do something “fun”?

